Log in
Home Page

Canvey Island Infant School

Learning is a journey, not a destination


Welcome to our Governors’ section.


A big welcome from the Governors serving on the Board for Canvey Island Infant School. We are all volunteers and have very diverse backgrounds.

The day to day management of the school is the role of the Headteacher, but we are here to provide a strategic direction and to act as a ‘critical friend’.  We set the criteria by which the school is managed. We aim to help guide the school to improve the standard of education for all our children. We also work with the Headteacher to set the school’s aims and policies. It is important for us to ensure that the finances of the school are in order and the funding spent appropriately.  We also ensure the local and national government legislation and targets are met and the curriculum is delivered to benefit all children.

This work is demanding but is also, in so many ways, rewarding.  We enjoy being part of the school community and take an active role. We are privileged to attend school functions and to be part of the audience witnessing the hard work of the children and staff.  We support the school wherever possible whether it be helping out at the Winter Fayre or monitoring the School Development Plan.

We work together as a team and meet half termly. If you are interested in learning more about the Governing Board, please contact Mrs D Walker, Clerk to Governors at the school.


Our School Governors are:



Date of Appointment

Date of resignation

Mr S McDermott

Chair of Governors/LEA Governor

February 2018/LEA July 2019


Mrs S Dorrington Headteacher September 2020  

Mr I Umpleby

Vice-Chair of Governors/Co-opted Governor

July 2015


Mr W Gosnold

Co-opted Governor/Chair of Finance

October 2006


Mrs K Diebelius

Co-opted Governor

October 2020


Mrs K Turnbull Co-opted Governor October 2020  
Vacancy Co-opted Governor    

Mr A Campan

Parent Governor

November 2018


Mrs H Symon

Parent Governor

September 2020



Parent Governor




Parent Governor



Miss H Maynard

Staff Governor

February 2020


Mrs D Walker

Clerk to Governors

September 2009